Minutes for the 2014 Annual CalChess Meeting

Date: August 30, 2014

Place: Berkeley Chess School at 6:00 pm

Meeting called to order at 6:30 pm by Tom Langland

Board Members attending: Tom Langland, Salman Azhar, Scott Mason, Richard

Koepcke, Stephen Shaughnessy, Joe Lonsdale, Swaninathan Shankar

Election: The following candidates were elected

Stephen Shaughnessy Tom Langland Joe Lonsdale Salman Azhar

Candidate Ashik Uzzaman did not get enough votes to win a seat on the Board. Richard Koepcke left the meeting to attend to the State Championship tournament in progress.

Motion: 03-2014: Establish a Northern California Hall of Fame. Hall of Fame Committee members to be Scott Mason, Tom Langland, Kerry Lawless, and Joe Lonsdale. Hall will be virtual and will be located on Kerry Lawless'es ChessDryad site. (Langland, Azhar). Motion passed 6-0.

Selection of Officers: The board elected the following officers for coming year:

President: Tom Langland

Vice President: Stephen Shaughnessy

Treasurer : Joe Lonsdale Secretary : Richard Koepcke

Appointments [all positions approved by a 6 - 0 vote]

Webmaster: Tom Langland

Clearinghouse (now a committee): Tom Langland, Scott Mason, Swaminathan Sankar

<u>Membership Secretary</u>: Richard Koepcke Club List Coordinator: Swaminathan Sankar

Scholastic Representatives: The following were nominated to be the Scholastic Representatives for the coming year (term ends June 2015):

Emily Zhu Arvind Sankar Hunter Kotz-Burwell

Members where elected by a 6-0 vote

Meeting adjourned 8:00 pm